SSMCP logo
SSMCP Leadership
Signing of the NCZ Memorandum of Agreement, May 2017 at Eagles Pride Golf Course

Elected Officials Council: Open to all elected officials in greater Pierce and Thurston Counties.

2021 Co-Chairs:

John Hutchings, Thurston County
Don Anderson, Lakewood

Executive Leadership Team:

  • John Caulfield, Chair, City of Lakewood
  • Scott Spence, Vice-Chair, City of Lacey
  • Don Anderson, Pierce County
  • David Fullmer, JBLM Headquarters

Steering Committee:

  • Larry Sanchez/Joe Cushman, Nisqually Tribe
  • Jennica Machado, Thurston County
  • Andy Takata, DuPont
  • Kierra Phifer, Puget Sound Energy
  • Rosa McLeod, Tacoma
  • Steve Sugg, University Place
  • Michael Grayum, Yelm
  • Shanon Kelly-Fong, Lacey

Working Group Leads:

  • Tom Pierson, Tacoma Pierce County Chamber of Commerce (Business & Economic Development WG)
  • Doug Mah, Thurston County Chamber (Business & Economic Development WG)
  • Dona Ponepinto, United Way of Pierce Co. (Social Services WG)
  • JoAnn Schueler, WA Dept. of Transportation (Transportation WG)
  • Marc Daily, Thurston Regional Planning Council (Transportation WG)
  • Lindsey Sehmel, Pierce Transit (Transportation WG) 
  • April Berube, Vineyard Park of Puyallup (Health Care WG)
  • Ron Banner, Clover Park School District (Education WG)
  • Lin Zhou, Bates Technical College (Education WG)
  • Nichole Ayers, Cohen Veteran’s Clinic (Healthcare WG)
  • Steve O’Ban, Pierce County, (Healthcare WG)
  • Amanda Kirilenko, CarePartners, (Healthcare WG)


  • SSMCP Program Director, Bill Adamson
  • SSMCP Program Coordinator, Maria Tobin